What is a California DUI School?

inne-rpage-seperator

Different DUI Convictions Have Different School Requirements

 The state of California requires a school component to be included in the sentence of pretty much every type of DUI case. The requirements of the classes vary and will largely depend on what your blood alcohol content was at the time of your arrest and whether or not this is your first DUI conviction. The different school requirements for different convictions include:

  • First offense DUI: 30-hour DUI school
  • Wet reckless: 12-hour alcohol program
  • Dry reckless: no class required
  • First offense DUI with BAC .20 or higher: 9-month DUI school
  • Second or subsequent offense DUI: 18-month DUI school which includes other requirements such as 52 hours of counseling, 12 hours of substance abuse education, and other requirements.

 If you or a loved one is facing a California DUI charge, then it is important to seek the advice of an experienced California DUI lawyer. Each case is unique, and it is important get advice that is specific to your case and personal situation.

DUI accident in California

 Requirements for a DUI First Offense in California

 If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time in the state of California, then you are subject to discipline in a variety of ways. The consequences of a DUI first offense conviction under California law include:

  • 3-5 years of probation
  • A DUI school that ranges from 3-9 months
  • Fines and court costs that range between $1,500-2000 depending on where you are
  • A suspension of your driver’s license for a period of 6 months
  • The installation of an alcohol interlock device (blow and go) in your vehicle for 6 months
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Potential work release
  • Required attendance of a victim impact panel

 Note: Each case is different, in order to understand what you are facing based on the specifics of your case, then it is recommended that you speak to an experienced California DUI attorney who can best guide you.

Road in California

 The AB541 School Explained

 In the state of California, the most common first offender DUI school is the AB541 program. A driver will be sentenced to attend and complete the AB541 program if the driver’s BAC was below .20 and if it is the driver’s first DUI within the last 10 years. The AB541 program is aimed at educating drivers about the effects of alcohol use, to prevent them from reoffending, and to open the door towards the possibility of a sober life. Each AB541 program is slightly different, and are all required to follow the same minimum guidelines, which include:

  • An enrollment class session
  • Two case management class sessions
  • A minimum of 15 hours of substance abuse classes spread over at least 10 sessions
  • A minimum of 15 hours of group sessions that span 10 different meeting times
  • Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) meetings.

The AB541 is a 90-day outpatient substance abuse program. An AB541 program’s usual cost is around $850, and people are required to enroll in an AB541 program within 21 days from their last court date. The $850-dollar fee can be paid in full or can be broken up into installments as you agree with the school.

An AB541 program is typically ordered to be successfully completed as a condition of your DUI probation by your sentencing judge. That means that if you do not successfully complete the AB541 program, then it will be deemed a violation of your probation and you could face being sentenced to jail by the judge for the violation. In order to avoid this, you must turn in a certificate of completion to the court showing that you met all the requirements of the AB541 program.

You are allowed up to five absences from the AB541 program, but these absences must be made up before you can successfully complete the class. If you exceed five absences, or are disruptive or not engaged in the class, then you can be dropped from your AB541 program, likely resulting in a violation of probation as mentioned above. You are also required to maintain your sobriety during the time you are in the class and on probation. A failure to remain sober will likely result in a probation violation that can land you in jail. To best understand your specific situation and case, call us at Greco Neyland for a free consultation. 

Contact Us for a Free Consultation 

If you are facing the possibility of criminal charges related to a DUI, or have already been charged, then it is important to seek the advice of an experienced California DUI lawyer. At Greco Neyland, we are proud to offer FREE consultation to anyone facing potential criminal charges. If you are looking for a candid evaluation of your DUI case, then our attorneys are available for you now. Contact us anytime at (713) 972-1100. The advice from us is free, and any conversations will be protected by attorney-client privilege even if you decide to hire another attorney. Take the first step towards freedom by calling Greco Neyland today.

 

What is a California DUI School?

inne-rpage-seperator

Different DUI Convictions Have Different School Requirements

 The state of California requires a school component to be included in the sentence of pretty much every type of DUI case. The requirements of the classes vary and will largely depend on what your blood alcohol content was at the time of your arrest and whether or not this is your first DUI conviction. The different school requirements for different convictions include:

  • First offense DUI: 30-hour DUI school
  • Wet reckless: 12-hour alcohol program
  • Dry reckless: no class required
  • First offense DUI with BAC .20 or higher: 9-month DUI school
  • Second or subsequent offense DUI: 18-month DUI school which includes other requirements such as 52 hours of counseling, 12 hours of substance abuse education, and other requirements.

 If you or a loved one is facing a California DUI charge, then it is important to seek the advice of an experienced California DUI lawyer. Each case is unique, and it is important get advice that is specific to your case and personal situation.

DUI accident in California

 Requirements for a DUI First Offense in California

 If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time in the state of California, then you are subject to discipline in a variety of ways. The consequences of a DUI first offense conviction under California law include:

  • 3-5 years of probation
  • A DUI school that ranges from 3-9 months
  • Fines and court costs that range between $1,500-2000 depending on where you are
  • A suspension of your driver’s license for a period of 6 months
  • The installation of an alcohol interlock device (blow and go) in your vehicle for 6 months
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Potential work release
  • Required attendance of a victim impact panel

 Note: Each case is different, in order to understand what you are facing based on the specifics of your case, then it is recommended that you speak to an experienced California DUI attorney who can best guide you.

Road in California

 The AB541 School Explained

 In the state of California, the most common first offender DUI school is the AB541 program. A driver will be sentenced to attend and complete the AB541 program if the driver’s BAC was below .20 and if it is the driver’s first DUI within the last 10 years. The AB541 program is aimed at educating drivers about the effects of alcohol use, to prevent them from reoffending, and to open the door towards the possibility of a sober life. Each AB541 program is slightly different, and are all required to follow the same minimum guidelines, which include:

  • An enrollment class session
  • Two case management class sessions
  • A minimum of 15 hours of substance abuse classes spread over at least 10 sessions
  • A minimum of 15 hours of group sessions that span 10 different meeting times
  • Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) meetings.

The AB541 is a 90-day outpatient substance abuse program. An AB541 program’s usual cost is around $850, and people are required to enroll in an AB541 program within 21 days from their last court date. The $850-dollar fee can be paid in full or can be broken up into installments as you agree with the school.

An AB541 program is typically ordered to be successfully completed as a condition of your DUI probation by your sentencing judge. That means that if you do not successfully complete the AB541 program, then it will be deemed a violation of your probation and you could face being sentenced to jail by the judge for the violation. In order to avoid this, you must turn in a certificate of completion to the court showing that you met all the requirements of the AB541 program.

You are allowed up to five absences from the AB541 program, but these absences must be made up before you can successfully complete the class. If you exceed five absences, or are disruptive or not engaged in the class, then you can be dropped from your AB541 program, likely resulting in a violation of probation as mentioned above. You are also required to maintain your sobriety during the time you are in the class and on probation. A failure to remain sober will likely result in a probation violation that can land you in jail. To best understand your specific situation and case, call us at Greco Neyland for a free consultation. 

Contact Us for a Free Consultation 

If you are facing the possibility of criminal charges related to a DUI, or have already been charged, then it is important to seek the advice of an experienced California DUI lawyer. At Greco Neyland, we are proud to offer FREE consultation to anyone facing potential criminal charges. If you are looking for a candid evaluation of your DUI case, then our attorneys are available for you now. Contact us anytime at (713) 972-1100. The advice from us is free, and any conversations will be protected by attorney-client privilege even if you decide to hire another attorney. Take the first step towards freedom by calling Greco Neyland today.

 

free case evaluation





Results That Matter to You

google-min
bbb-logo-min
trader-logo-min