Los Angeles Gun Crimes Lawyer

inne-rpage-seperator

Getting charged with a gun crime in California is especially serious, as our state has some of the toughest gun laws in the nation. And because the laws are so tough, it’s easy to run afoul of them, especially if you’re a new resident, or a visitor bringing a gun into the state.

While in some states firearms laws are limited to bans on certain types of weapons, in California you can end up breaking the law by transporting the firearm incorrectly, by failing to register the gun properly, or even, depending on your personal history, by owning a gun at all.

What You Need to Know About Gun Laws in Los Angeles

California passed several new gun laws in 2019. The following offers a summary of both old and new gun laws.

Not everyone has the right to own a gun in California.

To own a gun in California you must:

  • Be 21 years of age.
  • Take a gun safety course.
  • Submit to a background check.
  • Have a good reason for requesting the gun license.

You can be banned from owning a gun in California if:

  • You have ever been involuntarily committed to a mental health hospital.
  • If you’ve been convicted of certain domestic violence charges.
  • Individuals who have been convicted of a felony.
  • Known drug addicts.
  • Individuals convicted of certain misdemeanor crimes.

There also may circumstantial reasons which would keep you from purchasing a gun. In 2014 California passed a “Red Flag” law allowing someone to take out a gun violence restraining order on you if they feel like they’re in fear of their lives. As long as you are bound of the restraining order you’re stripped of your gun rights.

Purchasing or possessing a firearm as a prohibited person is a criminal act.

Every gun needs a serial number.

If you buy your gun in California that’s taken care of, as all gun manufacturers and assemblers must get a unique serial number for every gun. But if you move into the state and have a gun with no unique serial number, or if you build your own guns, you’ll need to fill out an application to get a number issued.

 

Transporting and concealing weapons are heavily regulated.

Here’s where you can get into a lot of trouble, as being pulled over with a weapon being improperly carried or transported can lead to an immediate arrest.

If it’s a concealable weapon, like a pistol, the gun must be unloaded when you transport it, and either placed in the trunk or locked in a lockbox. If it is a shotgun or rifle it doesn’t have to be locked up, but it does have to be unloaded when you transport it.

It’s a crime to bring a gun onto certain locations, like schools.

Finally, you may apply for a concealed carry permit, but you won’t necessarily get it. California is a “may issue” state. Local law enforcement can deny your permit for any reason. In general, they want to be sure the applicant is of good moral character and has a clean background.

Certain guns are banned.

Assault weapons are banned in California. Possessing, selling, or transporting assault weapons can result in up to 3 years in jail.

Assault weapons aren’t the only firearm or firearm accessory that’s banned. A rifle or shotgun with a short barrel is also prohibited, as is any gun that isn’t immediately identifiable as a gun. It’s also a crime to possess a high-capacity magazine.

A photo of Venice Beach in Los Angeles

The Consequences of Breaking Los Angeles Gun Laws

Depending upon the nature and extent of your gun crime, you could be charged either with a misdemeanor or a felony. You could spend years in jail, or be asked to pay heavy fines.

Keep in mind gun crimes often serve as enhancements making other crimes more severe, such as assault. Committing any other crime with a gun can subject you to some of the harshest penalties and longest jail sentences California can dish out.

Even “brandishing” a firearm in a threatening way is a crime.

How We Defend Your Gun Crimes Case

The defense we craft for you will depend largely on the type of gun crime you commit, the other crimes the prosecution may try to tack on to your gun charges, and the circumstances of your case.

Nevertheless, you can rest assured we are highly experienced with the ins and outs of California’s tough gun laws, and will mount a vigorous defense on your behalf. If you’ve been charged with a gun crime, don’t hesitate. Contact us today to secure the kind of tough representation you need to defend your freedom and your rights.

Los Angeles Gun Crimes Lawyer

inne-rpage-seperator

Getting charged with a gun crime in California is especially serious, as our state has some of the toughest gun laws in the nation. And because the laws are so tough, it’s easy to run afoul of them, especially if you’re a new resident, or a visitor bringing a gun into the state.

While in some states firearms laws are limited to bans on certain types of weapons, in California you can end up breaking the law by transporting the firearm incorrectly, by failing to register the gun properly, or even, depending on your personal history, by owning a gun at all.

What You Need to Know About Gun Laws in Los Angeles

California passed several new gun laws in 2019. The following offers a summary of both old and new gun laws.

Not everyone has the right to own a gun in California.

To own a gun in California you must:

  • Be 21 years of age.
  • Take a gun safety course.
  • Submit to a background check.
  • Have a good reason for requesting the gun license.

You can be banned from owning a gun in California if:

  • You have ever been involuntarily committed to a mental health hospital.
  • If you’ve been convicted of certain domestic violence charges.
  • Individuals who have been convicted of a felony.
  • Known drug addicts.
  • Individuals convicted of certain misdemeanor crimes.

There also may circumstantial reasons which would keep you from purchasing a gun. In 2014 California passed a “Red Flag” law allowing someone to take out a gun violence restraining order on you if they feel like they’re in fear of their lives. As long as you are bound of the restraining order you’re stripped of your gun rights.

Purchasing or possessing a firearm as a prohibited person is a criminal act.

Every gun needs a serial number.

If you buy your gun in California that’s taken care of, as all gun manufacturers and assemblers must get a unique serial number for every gun. But if you move into the state and have a gun with no unique serial number, or if you build your own guns, you’ll need to fill out an application to get a number issued.

 

Transporting and concealing weapons are heavily regulated.

Here’s where you can get into a lot of trouble, as being pulled over with a weapon being improperly carried or transported can lead to an immediate arrest.

If it’s a concealable weapon, like a pistol, the gun must be unloaded when you transport it, and either placed in the trunk or locked in a lockbox. If it is a shotgun or rifle it doesn’t have to be locked up, but it does have to be unloaded when you transport it.

It’s a crime to bring a gun onto certain locations, like schools.

Finally, you may apply for a concealed carry permit, but you won’t necessarily get it. California is a “may issue” state. Local law enforcement can deny your permit for any reason. In general, they want to be sure the applicant is of good moral character and has a clean background.

Certain guns are banned.

Assault weapons are banned in California. Possessing, selling, or transporting assault weapons can result in up to 3 years in jail.

Assault weapons aren’t the only firearm or firearm accessory that’s banned. A rifle or shotgun with a short barrel is also prohibited, as is any gun that isn’t immediately identifiable as a gun. It’s also a crime to possess a high-capacity magazine.

A photo of Venice Beach in Los Angeles

The Consequences of Breaking Los Angeles Gun Laws

Depending upon the nature and extent of your gun crime, you could be charged either with a misdemeanor or a felony. You could spend years in jail, or be asked to pay heavy fines.

Keep in mind gun crimes often serve as enhancements making other crimes more severe, such as assault. Committing any other crime with a gun can subject you to some of the harshest penalties and longest jail sentences California can dish out.

Even “brandishing” a firearm in a threatening way is a crime.

How We Defend Your Gun Crimes Case

The defense we craft for you will depend largely on the type of gun crime you commit, the other crimes the prosecution may try to tack on to your gun charges, and the circumstances of your case.

Nevertheless, you can rest assured we are highly experienced with the ins and outs of California’s tough gun laws, and will mount a vigorous defense on your behalf. If you’ve been charged with a gun crime, don’t hesitate. Contact us today to secure the kind of tough representation you need to defend your freedom and your rights.

free case evaluation





Results That Matter to You

google-min
bbb-logo-min
trader-logo-min